Logo

1971 johnson 100 hp outboard

terry_k

I have a johnson 100 hp outboa

I have a johnson 100 hp outboard. I am having a problem with sometimes i have reverse and some times not. Sometimes when i am drifting to the dock i try putting it in reverse to slow down and it will go forward like it is in forward. If cut the motor off and restart and go straight to reverse it will work sometimes. Can anyone help with this problem thanks..

This motor needs type-C gear o

This motor needs type-C gear oil.Water in the oil is a no-no as well.Is this a problem that started suddenly?? These units are not meant to be a " brake " for a boat and are only for low speed reverse application.

I had the oil changed at a sho

I had the oil changed at a shop less than a month ago and was told there was no water in the oil. I am new to boating when i put into reverse i may have speed the engine up trying to go into reverse could that have messed it up. Thanks for your help.

"It's possible that the me

"It's possible that the mechanic who changed the gearlube did not know that the Hydro Electric Shift gearcase (yours) takes a special lubricant and installed the standard shift "HiVis 80/90w" lube. This would interfere with the shifting to put it mildly.

Your lower unit, as ikia states, demands what is called "Premium Blend" gearlube, also known as "Type C". This is available only at a Evinrude or Johnson dealership.

When time permits, visit my eBay store at: http://stores.ebay.com/Evinrude-Johnson-Outboard-Parts-etc?refid=store"

"i believe,.......that sierra

"i believe,.......that sierra carries this as well.....in fact,come to think of it,i know they do,as i had to order some last summer,...as i dont see many of those any more."

Hi i am still having problems