Logo

37L Love em or hate em

vwfixer25

"Hey guys, first time boat buy

"Hey guys, first time boat buyer here and am looking for any info on the 3.7l engine. I am an auto tech but am unfamiliar with it. Is it something to avoid or ok as long as you keep it properly maintained. Are parts expensive and does it have any weak components. I would imagine it is resonable on fuel. Am i correct? Well thanks for any info you can provide for me. The 3.7l looks like a unique breed and i wonder if i should stay away from it.What's your views on the closed cooling system?"

good engine light weight lots

good engine light weight lots of power
this engine was originally designed by conntinental. mercruiser has then developed a marine package for this motor and called it theirs aluminum block wuith 460 ford head ac delco ignition w/ rochester or mercarb from lifters up 460 ford oilfilter and ignition GM
THERE ARE TWO WEAK LINKS . charging system the flywheel magnets like to come apart and the stator likes to burn out and is an expensive fix. there is a great alternative with an alternator kit. closed cooling works great if claen and properly maintained

alt. kits can run you about 35

alt. kits can run you about 350$ for the conversion kit if you have the altenator as part of the harmonic balancer

"" The 3.7l looks like a u

"" The 3.7l looks like a unique breed and i wonder if i should stay away from it."

Ayuh,.....
Yup,.....
Yes,.....
RUN,.....
That motor was Supposed to be the Best Thing since Sliced Bread,..........
But,..... It Isn't,+ has been Out of Production for Many, Many Years........

Find a boat powered with a Chevy based motor,+ You'll be Much Happier,....
For Much Longer.........."

"Ken,
See my reply under the

"Ken,