Logo

Alpha 1 drive noise

"Thanks for all your advice gu

"Thanks for all your advice guys, this is a great forum. I have only had my new (2nd hand) boat out 4 times so I am still getting to know it. I have no problems with the engine side of things as I am a car mechanic, but I have had no experience with the outdrive. My question is regarding a noise in the outdrive. When the engine is reving over 2000 RPM there is a high pitch whining noise from the outdrive, it is not overly obtrusive, sounds kind of like the noise a supercharger on a car motor makes (quite a pleasant noise actually) It makes the noise if it is nuetral or drive, the noise doesn't alter if the steering is straight ahead or turning and there is no grinding or knocking noises. The receipts I got with the boat say the gimbal bearing and all the bellows were replaced 3 years ago. It is an Alpha 1 gen 1 outdrive. Is it normal for the outdrive to make this noise or is it something that needs attention, I just want to make sure it is ok.
John"

"Audible whining is not usual

"Audible whining is not usual to my knowledge (unless of course your wife or girlfriend is on board! But we digress...)

Are you sure it is coming from the drive?
You should get back there with someone else at the helm and see if you can localize the noise more closely. If it has power steering, it could be the steering pump. Or the alternator, or water circ pump bearings.

If its definitely the drive, it might be gears. How is the drive oil level?
You may want to take your local boat dealer mechanic for a ride and let him hear it.

Rod"

"The noise is definately comin

"The noise is definately coming from the drive area (I can even hear it over the top of the wife's whining) I'll get a stethascope next time I have it running and see if I can localize the exact area, if that fails I'll take your advice and get it up to the marine mechanic to listen to.
John"

"John;
If its definitely the

"John;