Logo

Water in Crankcase on 43

"Hey fellas. I'm new to th

"Hey fellas. I'm new to this site and posting so if I break a rule or two, it was not intentional. I,m looking at buying my first inboard which happens to be 4.3 Mercruiser. I know the gentleman who owns the boat and has had it since new ('88). Anyway, the crankcase was getting water in the oil (cream colored oil)last year so he had the head and intake gaskets done last year. The engine only has less than 900 hours on it. I don't know a lot about marine inboards but can make my way around a chevy small block pretty well. Other than a cracked block or cylinder head, is there anything else on a marine engine that could cause this problem. Exhasust manifolds?? Where to I begin to troubleshoot. Thanx for your help. Al"

"Don't bother looking at t

"Don't bother looking at the engine until you determine that the transom, engine mounts, floor stringers and floor are not wet or rotting. If you find moisture in the wood; RUN like the wind.

That said, exhaust mans. are a good start but pull the plugs 1st and look for evidence of water intrusion. If you find water then pull the exhaust mans., etc. If they are tested good then check the exhaust shutters (flappers) at the top end of the "Y" pipe.

If you don't find any water then I would suspect the gaskets or an internal head or block crack."

"Hi Guy,

Thanx for the tips

"Hi Guy,