Logo

Sorry Guys

"Sorry for loosing my train of

"Sorry for loosing my train of thought. Pressing matters at home. Anyway, to continue my ramblings, I am new to I/O ownership and aquired this boat for free (ie: sweat equity) to get it running. I am now on my third season with it. Please excuse my excess of questios but here I go:
Oil: I have been using 10W40 Castrol with Lucas oil treatment.
Change plugs, condenser, points, distributer etc every year. Changing wires this year. Suggestions welcome on brand.
Winterize fuel with Stabil and fog cylinders
Anti freeze water jacket
Remove battery for storage
Keep up lube Etc.
Check all wiring and clean as needed.
Have not replaced water pump impeller
New Lower unit just before I aquired due to some sort of stupidity and an insurance claim.
I know it's a lot to ask, but should I be doing/replacing anything else from a practical standpoint. We use this boat mostly 5-20 miles from home mainly for fishing, mainly jigging and drifting, no trolling and 5-6 days a year for tubing, sking. Of course always infused with beer, responsibly of course

Thanks again,
Jeff"

"[ Change plugs, condenser, po

"[ Change plugs, condenser, points, distributer etc every year. ]
Why? Does it run that many hours? I usually change spark plugs at about three year intervals and could probably go five. In my previous boat, I checked points gap every season and lubed the cam, but went about three seasons before replacement. I assume you meant distributer "cap", not distributer. Again, this item should definitely last several years. I would just carry a spare points set and condenser and a small file rather than replace every year, as these items are easy to dress or replace on the water (if not offshore).

[ Lucas oil treatment ] Does it burn oil if you don't use this additive?