Logo

Camshaft selection

andyg

"Hello everyone. I am new to w

"Hello everyone. I am new to working on ford engines specifically but I know my way through the insides of engines. I have a 1977 Searay 24 foot with twin ford 302's on it. Currently under full throttle the engines max out at 4000 rpm's. I am looking to get more power to spin them up to around 4500 and possibly put slightly bigger/ more pitch propellers on it. It has Alpha I drives which max out at 300hp i believe. I have some parts picked out to re-do the top end of the engine but I am not sure on camshaft selection. I am worrying about having the top end power while maintaining idle ability. (Yes I know that it is difficult to have best of both worlds in this way). The engines are 225hp stock and i would guess that I should get them to 275hp each with a better flowing intake, mild port/ polish the ports, and the camshaft. Is this camshaft a good choice?

Also are my heads any good in the first place? The only numbers I can find on them are 14 on the lower left of the head and a 351 inside under the valve cover.
Thanks and any help is appreciated.

http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?part=SUM%2DK3600&autoview=sku"

So you are saying that going w

So you are saying that going with a bigger cam will cause water to back into the cylinders because of the duration? If thats the case I will have to live with it. Hopefully changing intakes and a mild port cleanup will help my higher rpm's? What is your opinion on this? Also thanks for the quick reply.

"For us normal boaters ,Yes.To

"For us normal boaters ,Yes.Too much overlap will suck water into the motor,the reason the Big Boy`s aren`t affected is because they use a "dry exaust manifold" such as "Gill Headers".the exaust water goes a lot further before it gets dumped into the exaust system unlike the risers we use."

Andy...

What pitch of prop

Andy...