Logo

Help identify a Chris Craft engine

andrew

Administrator
"The following came in by emai

"The following came in by email from David Conway... I'm hoping someone here might be able to help:
<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

I have just purchased a 1959 Riva super florida which has I have been told has a chris craft engine made by chrysler. The description in the riva manual states these boats are fitted with a chrysler SEA V, type N 303579 engine. My engine is a flat six cyclinder and not that which is pictured on the cover of your manual. Could you offer me some assistance as I am a bit confused. I believe the engine to be original, but not being an expert, I cannot be sure. Thank you.

and

Thank you for your email. I enclose a photograph or two of the engine.
It is frozen, will not move and half of the parts are in a wooden box. I have looked for a name plate. All that I have found so far is cc3240 on what seems to be a brass plate on the engine block- right hand side below what appears to be an external oil pump, and on a bracket which holds the alternator and starter is another number H1613. I do plan to have the motor taken out of the boat so the serial number may be visible then but I have not been able to locate it unless it is the first number above. I do need all the help I can find to see whether this motor is savageable- I hope so.

and

Thank you for your email. Could I ask you to post it . I'm not very adept at working on the computer. I have been told that the engine is a chris craft motor, manufactured byt chrysler. Would the cc3240 number on the engines right side represent chris craft ? Thank you for your help.

david conway
[email protected]<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
13874.jpg

13875.jpg
2"">
13876.jpg

That's an old Chrysler fla

That's an old Chrysler flathead six all right. Hell to get parts for! I'd consider repowering with a modern v-8.

Jeff

"Some of the old in line sixes