Logo

New 40 HP TLDI questions

wh500special

"I have been shopping for a 40

"I have been shopping for a 40 HP engine for my 16' Lund boat and have experienced the sticker shock we all see before making a big purchase. Generally, prices for Merc's, Etecs, Yamahas, Suzuki, Honda, and the others all falls right on top each other (although dealer to dealer variability can be huge).

But the Nissan/Tohatsu TLDI 2 strokes are significantly cheaper. And, the quoted prices include the prop and control (or tiller). geez, even the tach and TNt gage are included on the remotes.

I haven't yet decided on a tiller or remote motor. Currently I have console steering but would really love to remove it in favir of a tiller. In my boat it is a simple change, but I know my wife prefers the steering wheel...

I have no personal experience with these TLDI outboards, but after looking them over they certainly seem to match up to the "big guys" on all superficial accounts like fit, finish, etc. Recently I learned the current Mercurys 30 HP and lower are all in fact made by Nissan and the specs are identical (except the 9.8 vs 9.9).

I wanted to stick with American engines, but evidnetly that is pretty tough to do these days.

Dealer availability around me and in most places I fish is very good for Nissan/Tohatsu, but of course there are a lot more Merc/Yamaha/Honda stores in many places. Assuming Nissan doesn't pull out of the US market, I don't see this as a big deal for me.

Generally, in this day and age, most sophisticated products are very reliable and usually on par with competitors so I have no reason (yet) to shy away from Nissan/Tohatsu and would fully expect these engines to be at least as good as my old Mercs, Mariners, and johnsons i am familiar with.