Logo

Carburetor Problems i think need help quick

Z

zade faraj

" Hi! I'm new here, but I

" Hi! I'm new here, but I am having a little problem with my boat. I just purchased a ?ust-about?new motor from some good guys in Michigan. The engine is great, but it did not come with a carburetor. I purchased a Holley carb to put on my GM/Volvo Penta 3.0L inboard motor. (I'm very new to marine terminology so bare with me) The motor is in the boat and has a shaft that drives the propeller through an outdrive. (I think i got that right) But as it goes, the motor cranks fine, but it seems to die after about 45 seconds. I salvaged the fuel pump from the previous motor which bolts onto the bottom end of the engine, and has a lever that hits the crankshaft, moving the lever, which in turn pumps gas through the lines into the carb. The engine kind of sputters at first and takes a second to come on, but I noticed, while looking through the carb barrel, while the engine is running, that virtually no fuel comes out into the barrel. The only time it does come out is when I give it a little more gas, but it only makes one squirt, then ceases to give more gas. Eventually, the gas inside the engine burns off and it putters out. The gas seems to come out fine when I pump the throttle, but doesn? come out constantly when the throttle is open. I've tried to manually adjust the carburetor, but i've had no such luck. I believe the pump is working fine, even though when I removed it from the old engine, I separated it to find gunked-up rubber from a previous hose, stuck inside the holes and along the walls of the pump. I cleaned it out thorough, and it should work fine, because fuel is reaching the carb, but it just doesn? seem to have a continuous drip/flow of gas. I haven? yet tested to see the amount of pressure coming out of the fuel lines, but it is coming out of the carb, which means it is reaching it. It seems weird that no fuel would come out into the barrel as the engine was running